Sample Offset via MIDI input?

Post Reply
NaturalBornChiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:29 pm

Sample Offset via MIDI input?

Post by NaturalBornChiller » Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:12 pm

Hi,

first post!

I'm using SunVox as a general sound design / mixing / mastering environment and it is absolutely amazing for that.

As a sequencer, I use Xequence, and control all modules in SunVox via MIDI in.

Works great, HOWEVER: I haven't found a way to control sample offset (for the Sampler module) via MIDI. I know it is possible via pattern commands. Normally, I would expect to have a controller on the Sampler module "Offset" or so, and then MIDI learn that (double-tap the controller, then learn).

As there is no "Sample offset" controller on the sampler module, is there any workaround to control sample offset via MIDI?

Thanks!

User avatar
NightRadio
Site Admin
Posts: 3042
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:28 am
Location: Ekaterinburg. Russia
Contact:

Re: Sample Offset via MIDI input?

Post by NightRadio » Sun Aug 05, 2018 9:57 pm

Hi! :)
You can use the Phase controller of the MultiSynth.

NaturalBornChiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: Sample Offset via MIDI input?

Post by NaturalBornChiller » Mon Aug 06, 2018 5:13 pm

Ohh PHASE, haha. Yes, in a way that makes sense! :) Thanks! Problem solved.

NaturalBornChiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: Sample Offset via MIDI input?

Post by NaturalBornChiller » Thu Aug 09, 2018 10:40 pm

If you have another minute :) I've tried to use Note Pitch instead of a CC to set phase, so that I could play a different part of the sample with each key on the keyboard.

That "kind of" works, however, the sample offset is always "one keypress late": i.e., if I play three notes C, D, E, the second note will still have the sample offset from the first note, the third note from the second, etc... there seems to be some kind of race condition in the code, i.e. the phase value from the MultiSynth seems to get to the Sampler module too late if Note Pitch is used as the control source? (I can provide a test project if that helps!)

NaturalBornChiller
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 05, 2018 6:29 pm

Re: Sample Offset via MIDI input?

Post by NaturalBornChiller » Tue Aug 21, 2018 6:35 pm

:(

Post Reply