Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post Reply
User avatar
SolarLune
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Contact:

Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by SolarLune » Tue Oct 14, 2014 8:34 pm

Hey, I suggested this before, and I don't think people were really cool with the idea, but I can't find it anymore, so I'm gonna make an official request for it.

It'd be really, really nice if it were possible to drag modules over connections between modules to auto-place them in the middle of the connection and connect them automatically. So, if you have an Amplifier going to the Output, you could drag a Filter over the connection to place a filter in the middle of the two, and connect them (so Amplifier > Filter > Output). An option to disable it could be available in the Settings window for those who don't like it.

Please consider it!

blacbeard
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 10:13 am

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by blacbeard » Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:43 pm

I was thinking about this yesterday. 'Reactable' iOS uses this for live insert of effects into it's modular routing. Very cool. The other cool feature in reactable is swiping across the connection muting the audio chain. Unmuting is achieved with a second swipe.

User avatar
The Handle
Posts: 184
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2011 5:11 am

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by The Handle » Wed Oct 15, 2014 12:53 am

I could definitely use something like that in my live work. +1

User avatar
SolarLune
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by SolarLune » Wed Oct 15, 2014 5:15 am

Yeah, I know it might not be usable for everyone, but considering how much time we spend making connections between modules, the ability to "slot" another module into an existing chain would be appreciated.

blacbeard
Posts: 69
Joined: Fri May 28, 2010 10:13 am

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by blacbeard » Wed Oct 15, 2014 6:06 am

Perhaps 'bump' to connect/disconnect would be a way of establishing or disconnecting modules too. maybe with a +key so that it is deliberate not accidental.

User avatar
SolarLune
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by SolarLune » Wed Oct 15, 2014 7:49 am

^ I was thinking of something like that, too, like drag a module over an existing one to connect it (and I suppose the "connecting" module would go back to the original position before you picked it up). That could work; holding a key seems like it'd be kinda unnecessary, though, since that's how it already is (hold control and click to begin the connection, release on the desired module). If the modules flashed when you hovered a module to connect over them, it'd help to minimize accidents.

hseiken
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Jul 17, 2008 3:52 am

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by hseiken » Thu Oct 23, 2014 12:36 pm

If anyone's used psycle, it handles inserting machines by way of 'joints'....so this is an 'extra' feature request to go with the one here...

Basically, in the center of a wire between two machines is a node. If you connect a machine to this node, the machine is inserted into that 'stream' between the original two modules. It's awesome.

Now, to build on this, I think it would be cool if there is option to turn these nodes into connection 'elbows'...meaning you can move them as if they are a module and the wires react as such...it would help when keeping twisty paths and dodgy connections that are tangled a bit more in order.

As well, in Psycle, the elbow, when selected brought up volume/panning sliders, I believe.

User avatar
SolarLune
Posts: 493
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 9:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by SolarLune » Sun Sep 13, 2015 8:08 pm

^ That's an interesting idea. Currently the lines are always a straight shot, but added joints would allow you to kind of "direct traffic" in a way that makes sense to you.

Also, an easy way to disconnect a module could be to just press a key to "lift" the module and disconnect it? The remaining modules would be re-routed in a way that makes sense (generally).

User avatar
Saltbearer
Posts: 53
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2014 2:18 am
Location: Caflirinoa
Contact:

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by Saltbearer » Mon Sep 14, 2015 8:10 am

Elbow joints! Please! I sometimes find it a bit tricky to keep all the connections clear in a 100-module spiderweb, and don't like doing things that create crossings to untangle. If it were a little simpler to keep things clean, maybe I'd be a little more adventurous. Which gives me an idea.

User avatar
DigitalNematode
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 17, 2015 10:06 am
Location: Chicago

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by DigitalNematode » Mon Dec 28, 2015 9:54 am

Grab a dc filter module, rename it to elbow. Pretend its something you have always wanted. ;) You could always set the modules up in a pixel perfect linear fashion, make sure every line overlaps perfectly. But then you are stuck pressing undo every time you interact in order to keep it neat. All jokes aside, I'm severly OCD and completly understand the dilemma. Actually when I first arrived I untangled peoples projects while becoming familiar. Had to actually, in order to see all the details. November's winner... That took about an hour lol.

Antima
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:14 pm

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by Antima » Sat Feb 13, 2016 3:31 pm

I like the idea in the original post. An alternative idea would be to have the abilty to select a module, and then from a menu select 'insert before' or 'insert after' and then choose your new module.

Thanks to DigitalNematode for the elbow idea using the dc filter! I shrink them down to minimum size and it works well.

User avatar
xaccrocheur
Posts: 77
Joined: Sat Feb 27, 2010 3:16 pm
Location: Africa
Contact:

Re: Drag Module Over Line To Connect

Post by xaccrocheur » Fri Jun 02, 2017 9:00 pm

+1 to both ideas, although IMHO the jointed lines thing should definitely be optional.
Yassin Philip - Check out My music =@

Post Reply