Glide doesn't work in MetaModule when "Reset on 1st note" is turned on

Multi-platform modular music creation studio
Post Reply
Bobhostern
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:17 am

Glide doesn't work in MetaModule when "Reset on 1st note" is turned on

Post by Bobhostern »

Overview:
Putting a Glide module inside of a MetaModule, and turning on the option "Reset on 1st note" makes the Glide never glide.

Steps:
1. Open SunVox to an empty project.
2. Load in a MetaModule.
3. Edit the metamodule to add this chain:
[01] Glide -> [02] (Analog) Generator -> [00] Output
4. Return to the project, and add some notes to the pattern editor.
5. Play it, the notes should glide to each other.
6. Go back into the MetaModule, and turn on "Reset on 1st note".
7. Go back and play the pattern again. It stops gliding at all, even for continuous notes (no NOTE OFF).

Expected behavior:
Step 7 should have resulted in gliding notes if they were continuous.

Example:
GlideInMetaModule.sunvox
(3.23 KiB) Downloaded 291 times
User avatar
NightRadio
Site Admin
Posts: 3941
Joined: Fri Jan 23, 2004 12:28 am
Location: Ekaterinburg. Russia
Contact:

Re: Glide doesn't work in MetaModule when "Reset on 1st note" is turned on

Post by NightRadio »

It stops gliding at all, even for continuous notes (no NOTE OFF).
Actually there are no continuous notes in your project, and this is the main reason why the Glide never glide :)
In the following pattern we see the single NOTE OFF command:

Code: Select all

D5  01

G5  01

A5  01
==
But in fact, SunVox inserts NOTE OFF before each new note. So if you need really continuous note, use one of the following ways:

1) use "Slide to note" effect 03 with some big XXYY (e.g. 1000):

Code: Select all

D5  01
G5  01 0003 1000
A5  01 0003 1000
2) disable "Reset on 1st note" and set "Reset" controller after each long note.

3) disable "Polyphony" of the Glide module and play the following pattern:

Code: Select all

D5  01 .... .... | 
       .... .... | G5  01 .... ....
       .... .... | A5  01 .... ....
==     .... .... | ==     .... ....
Bobhostern
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Oct 07, 2012 5:17 am

Re: Glide doesn't work in MetaModule when "Reset on 1st note" is turned on

Post by Bobhostern »

Thanks for the reponse! I wasn't aware of this behavior... :sorry:
Post Reply